the ministry of breakfast

February 27, 2007

Whoever said that breakfast was the most important meal of the day may have been on to something.  I mean, if I am at home, I rarely eat breakfast.  I don’t know why – but I don’t feel all that hungry in the morning.  But if I’m going out to breakfast with another person – – well that changes everything.  I regularly enjoy breakfast with Lloyd Lehrbass, a good friend of mine, and once in a while I’ll find myself making plans with other people just because it is a good time to chat about, well, anything.

This morning was one of those mornings.  I found myself sitting with Chris Volpe eating breakfast.  Chris Volpe is a swell guy.  And don’t misunderstand what my title is trying to say – – I didn’t go out with Chris to minister to him (nor him to me).  But – inevitably – when you sit with a person at a table and talk, it turns into something special.  And we find ourselves talking about the sacred things in our lives: hobbies, friends, events, girls…so, it becomes something great.  It’s the kind of stuff that good friendships are made of.

I think that when we share in each others’ lives in this sort of way, we begin to understand something of the intimacy of communion.  And it can’t always be found in large groups.  And it can’t always be found in the rituals to which we subscribe.  Sometimes the simple, day to day actions of life, are a brilliant picture of things we try and conjure up in fanciful, pretend ways.

Thanks for breakfast Chris.

Leave a Reply

