feeling rather angry…

March 31, 2007

I just heard the news that a women’s shelter is shutting down in Oshawa – – maybe I’m a little behind the times here so maybe something good has already happened and I just don’t know about it but in case something good hasn’t happened yet – what the heck? How many churches are there in Oshawa? Whitby? There must be resources to fund a women’s hostel… “This is a terrible situation, once again highlighting the inadequacy of provincial funding for much needed local community services,” says Roger Anderson – WRONG! This is a terrible situation where the church ought to be rising up and taking responsibility for carrying out the mandate of Christ when he says that we need to take care of the poor, the widow, the orphan…people who need our help…ok…so now what…I need to think…maybe there is something going on right now that I can partner with or lend my influence to. If anyone knows of anything – – let me know.

And by the way – – the Oshawa/Whitby area is very rich and very growing…here…read the article for yourself.

I just spoke with a woman at Adelaide house and as of THIS TUESDAY they are shut down. This is sad news indeed – as far as I can tell…

So on the week when we’re observing the suffering and death and ultimate sacrifice of Jesus, 72 more women are becoming homeless. I don’t think he is happy about this…

5 Responses to “feeling rather angry…”

  1. Gilly Orme said

    Jay, that’s pretty terrible if you ask me. I have to say, sometimes (okay, a lot of times) the Church really disgusts me. I’m sure I’m not the only one. Anyway, check out my new site…I’ve moved away from crappy old Blogger now. Yay!

    Gilly

  2. Patman said

    I feel that business is the downfall of Christianity… (not that I believe the church isn’t responsible) but I imagine it was bad business to keep the place running or at least in other situations of similar merit it is.

    P the P

  3. Patman said

    oh and that is terrible

  4. angela said

    jason – i met you briefly through chris lewis at the conference over a week ago…

    this post made me choke up… i have been talking about this concern for about a week now and my friend christa and i are putting a site together… she is a pastor in oshawa (www.lifechurchoshawa.com) it’s my hometown… so i’m feeling it.

    they are asking everyone at her church to give on Sunday morning and all funds will be forwarded to the Adelaide House. they are also asking people to give their time if they can – to volunteer and help things get up and running.

    i will certainly keep you posted on what we are doing about this – and i am sure it will *work together for the good*…

    i concur with you too, about the churches.

    i know them all, and all the pastors by name… and i know their budgets, and their salaries… and the mortgage payments they make on *empty* buildlings. perhaps the money filtering in could be better spent…

    it would be good to hang with you sometime! take care, a.

  5. angela said

    me again.

    here is a link to the site christa and i put together:

    http://www.save-the-shelter.blogspot.com

    cheers. a.

Leave a Reply

