lots going on…

April 8, 2007

Well friends it has been a little while since I have written. This has been a very full week indeed. Today I get to rest and relax after many services, readings, songs and ceremonies. It has truly been a rich week with my family at Wesley Chapel.

I have a couple of other posts to write – one on the Toronto Cantata Chorus and one on my school band at Immanuel – – but I’m waiting for a few pics to make the post a little more interesting.

Today I want to encourage you to write letters. Write letters to show that the closure of the YWCA women’s shelter in Oshawa is not something you are pleased about. If you think it is important for society to assist those who are in need ot assistance, state your opinion. You don’t need to be rude – in fact don’t be – it doesn’t help us get ahead. If you visit my friend Angela’s website you can read the news articles and see what we can do. I wrote a letter today to Jerry Ouelette, John Gray and Christine Elliot. It was simple and merely expressed my disappointed in what was happening but my faith in socieity’s ability to rally in a time of need. I also stated that I believe that social institutions, churches and social organiziations such as the Salvation Army should come together and have a more authoritative and prophetic voice. And if you don’t live in the Durham Region – that’s ok. Write anyways.

Writing letters is a good idea. If our local politicians know our positions, then they know that they need to take action. Please help this cause by taking 15 minutes this Easter Day to write a letter – copy it a couple of times – and send it away.   Click on my friend Angela’s website.  These women need our voices…

4 Responses to “lots going on…”

  1. angela said

    have you heard back from any of those letters you wrote? christa got a one line response from one of them… i forget which one, but she said it wasn’t even a full sentence! Haha.

    have a good week! angela

  2. jasonlocke said

    Yeah Angela – I heard back from Mayor Gray. It was a complete sentence. I guess I shouldn’t expect it to be a long and insightful email – – he probably gets tons! At least I heard back from him…the others are still MIA!

  3. Christa said

    Hey Jason,
    Angela told me you’d posted a couple blogs about the shelter, so I thought I’d check out your blog… thanks so much for getting the word out! My 1/2 a sentence response WAS from John Gray. 🙂 I’ve heard from a couple people today that they too got one full sentence from him. You’re right… at least he did respond — Especially since I’m pretty sure he’s gotten quite a few e-mails in the past few days. 🙂

    Thanks again!

  4. angela said

    jason – thanks so much for posting the past couple weeks. we heard from the director of YWCA RE: the website – and they have expressed many thanks… so thank you for pointing people that way!

    grace, a.

Leave a Reply

